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The Board voted to have the awards presentation on December 19 at Los
Caballeros immediately following golf. Prize money and hole-in-one trophies will
given out at that time.  Prize money will be awarded for the Club Championship
winners for both flights A and B, Big Dog winners for both Wednesday and Saturday,
the Champion of Champions, the Most Improved Golfer, the golfer with the lowest net
score, and to the five golfers who had holes-in-one this year.  

Highlights from Second Quarter 

 The Birdies Have Landed and Landed and Landed

On September 30 the most improbable happened at the VGA event at Biltmore Links
– 15 skins, that's right 15.  There was a skin on each of the nine holes on the front side
and six holes on the back.  Here they are by hole numbers;

Ken Slagle – 1, Dan Christiansen – 2, Neal Fisel – 3, Steve Richter – 4, Jack Rataezyk
– 5, Neal Fisel – 6, Fred Baldwin – 7, Steve Richter – 8, Mike Roether – 9, Dave Dean –
10, Larry Burton – 13, Jim Cox – 14 & 15, Larry Burton – 16, and Tom Hebert – 17.  No
one birdied 11, 12, or 18.

Aces

Al Dan scored a hole-in-one at Desert Canyon's 174 yard par three thirteenth hole
on July 8.  He hit his six-iron to the back of the elevated green not knowing he aced it
until he found the ball in the hole.  It was his first hole-in-one.    Great shot Al.

Dan Chistiansen scored his first hole-in-one on the 115 yard hole number seven at
Las Sendas.  He used his nine-iron to hit his perfect shot.  He thought ball was close,
but not in the hole because it was still visible due to the COVID-19 collar. Way to go
Dan!

With the two above holes-in-one, that makes five holes-in-one for the VGA from April
1 through August 1 and each of these golfers scored their first aces of their life.

Eagles

Ben Hughes eagled the 502 yard par-five fourteenth hole on the Troon North
Monument course on August 5.  He hit his driver followed by a 3-wood to 49 yards
from the hole.  From there he hit a 56-degree wedge which took a great bounce and
slammed the pin and dropped into the hole.  Great eagle Ben!

Also at the Troon North Monument course on August 5, Tom Hebert eagled the
277 yard par-four hole.  He admitted to missing his drive and holing out with a wedge.
Way to go Tom!



Ken Slagle had an eagle at Whirlwind Devil's Claw on September 2.  He hit driver,
wedge to hole out the number thirteen 300 yard par-four hole.  Nice shot Ken!

Low net scores for the quarter

Eddie Little – 63  at Talking Stick on 7/25

Robert Johnson – 62 at Trilogy at Power Ranch on 7/29

Tom Hecocks – 69 at Palm Valley on 8/22

Frank Vutrano – 63 at Whirlwind Devil's Claw on 9/02

Gordon Lukert – 64 at Aguila on 9/12

Neal Fisel – 64 at Cave Creek on 9/26

Neal Fisel – 64 at Biltmore Links on 9/30

Low gross scores for the quarter

Dan Campos – 69(69) at Wickenburg Ranch on July 11

Tom Anderson – 74 (65) at Trilogy at Vistancia on July 18

Dan Delgado – 74(65) at Cave Creek on 9/26

Mike Roether – 74(66) at Cave Creek on 9/26

Big Dog Bites

Standings through October 10. 

The Big Dog race for 2020 is nearly over.  There are only three events in each race
before the golf season ends on October 31.  The first three places in each contest will
be awarded prize money at the awards presentation, $100 for first place, $60 for
second, and $40 for third.

Dave Dean has a considerable lead in the Wednesday race with 37 points.  He is
followed by Jim Cox, Ken Slagle, and Larry Burton  with 29, 27, and 25 points
respectively.  

The Saturday race is much closer. Mike Roether has played well recently to be in first
place with 22 points.  A resurgent Dan Christiansen is in second with 21 points. Dan
Clark is in third with 20 points with Ken Baca and Bill Heller with 18 points each.

Letters to Arnie

Dear Arnie, 

Recently, I hit a ball out-of-bounds near the green.  How should I have applied  Rule E-5



around the green?  Drivin' Dan 

Dear Dan,

As when a ball is hit out-of-bounds or lost near the fairway, you should have picked out
two reference points, one at spot A where the ball was hit out-of-bounds and the other
at spot B on the edge of the fairway no closer to the hole.  Then imagine two lines, one
through the pin to spot A and the other through the pin to spot B on the edge of the
fairway.  The  drop zone is beyond the arc drawn drawn between spot A and spot
B. You must drop the ball so that it is no closer to the hole than the point where it
went out-of-bounds.  You would be assessed a two-stroke penalty.

Remember you may not use the Rule E-5 if;

The ball is likely to be in a penalty area.
The ball is found in-bounds.
You have hit a provisional shot.

However, you may use the rule on the provisional ball.

Dear Arnie,

Recently while my ball was lying in the rough, I accidentally kicked it so that it moved.  I
was surprised when one of players in my foursome told me I should get a one-stoke
penalty and that I needed to put the ball back or get a two-stroke penalty.  When I
returned to club house, I asked someone in the pro shop, if I should have been
penalized for kicking my ball and was told no.  Who was correct?  Careless Carl

Dear Carl,

Well, both rulings are correct in certain situations.  Your playing partner was correct in
your situation.  If a player inadvertently moves a ball (beyond rocking back and forth)
while not on the green, it is a one-stoke penalty and if the ball is not replaced, then
it is a two-stroke penalty.

However there are  two new exceptions to the rule instituted in 2019. 

If a player inadvertently moves a ball on the putting green, he must replace it for no
penalty.

If a player inadvertently moves or strikes a ball when searching for it, he will not be
penalized as long as he replaces the ball.  

You may remember in final round of the Memorial Tournament earlier tis year, John
Rahm was assessed a two-stroke penalty for moving the ball slightly.  You can see in
the video that when he placed his club behind the ball in the rough, it rolled backwards.

Dear Arnie,

Unbelievably, within a few days, I saw the following happen twice.  A player chipped a
first ball towards the green when the ball struck a second ball in the fairway.  Each time
the second ball rolled onto the green.  In each case the foursomes decided to replace



the second ball at the point where it was struck and to leave the first ball where it ended
up.  Were we correct in out ruling?  Nailin' Neal 

Dear Neal,

You and your foursomes made the correct ruling.  USGA Rule 9.6 covers your situation.
It states that “If it is known or virtually certain that an outside influence lifted or
moved your ball there is no penalty.  The ball must be replaced on its original
spot (which if not known must be estimated).” Further, in your case, there is no
penalty for the player who made the chip.  However, if Player A putts from on the
green and his ball strikes another ball on the green, Player will be assessed a
two-stoke penalty and is to play the ball where it lies.

VGA Hats for Sale!

The VGA has a selection of good quality hats with our logo.  There are two styles
including: white with a blue or tan trim for $35, sand with a tan trim for $35 (not shown in
the picture), and white with a blue trim and chin tie for $30.  There are also white golf
hats for $15 and visors for $10.  See Fred Baldwin for details. 


