The VGA Eagle

Second Quarter 2020

The Board meeting for July was cancelled.
VGA Hats for Sale!

The VGA has a selection of good quality hats with our logo. There are two styles
including: white with a blue or tan trim for $35, sand with a tan trim for $35 (not shown in
the picture), and white with a blue trim and chin tie for $30. There are also white golf
hats for $15 and visors for $10. See Fred Baldwin for details.

Highlights from Second Quarter
Aces

Unbelievably, the VGA has had three holes-in-one in our second quarter, including
two one week apart. All three members had their first aces of their golf careers.

Jandy Johnson started the quarter by acing hole number eight at Bear Creek on
April first. She used an eight iron on the 125 yard hole. On a blind shot, she hit a
draw and did not see the ball drop into the hole.

On June 3 Paul Mickela used a six iron to ace the 157 yard hole nhumber seven at
Westbrook Village Lakes Course. He hit the shot to the right of the hole and drew it
onto to the green and watched the ball roll into the hole.

One week later on June 10, Ken Slagle aced the 145 yard second hole at Lone Tree.
He used a six iron, but did not realize that he had a hole-in-one until he found the ball in
the hole.

Since the VGA instituted the hole-in-one pot on November 1, 2017, its members
have had eight holes-in-one through June of 2020. We have played approximately
21,000 par three holes in that period of time. That means that we have scored a hole-



in-one about once for every 2,625 par three holes played. To put that in
perspective, according to the National Hole-in-One Registry, the odds that an
average player will score a hole-in-one are 12,000 to 1 and the odds for a high
handicapper are 5,000 to 1. Unbelievably, the odds for a pro are 3,000 to 1, which is
less often than the VGA's record for the above time period.

For your information, each year $5.00 of every member's dues is put aside in the hole-
in-one pot. Over the last few years we have at least 120 members join each year
resulting in over $600 in hole-in-one money. On October 31, the end of our schedule
year, the pot is divided by the number of holes-in-one made by members in VGA
events.

Also for VGA events, the VGA pays each member who scores a hole-in-one $100 out
of the treasury and will pay up to $100 toward the ensuing bar tab. The following is a
list of the other five holes-in-one mentioned above;

Fred Baldwin — Bear Creek hole number 2 — 137 yards — six iron — November 1, 2017
Neal Fisel — Stonecreek hole number 12 — 175 yards — five wood — April 11, 2018
Dan Delgado — ASU Karsten number 16 — 178 yards — five iron — September 1, 2018
Rusty Silverman — San Ignacio number 7 — 112 yards — gap wedge — May 26, 2019
Jim Cox — Lookout Mountain hole number 11 — 152 yards -seven iron- June 26, 2019

And then again there is Fred Baldwin. He has scored five aces in VGA play, the first
on March 26, 2011 and the fifth on November 1, 2017. During that time span he played
about 650 rounds and approximately 2,600 par three holes. That works out to be one
hole-in-one for every 520 holes played! His list of holes-in-one is as follows:

March 28, 2011 — Eagles Nest Hole #8 — 155 yards — 7 iron

December,10 2014 — Superstition Springs — Hole #7 — 168 yards — 4 iron
January 20, 2016 — Superstition Springs — Hole #3 — 125 yards — 9 iron
January 21, 2017 — Wickenburg Country Club — Hole #3 — 136 yards — 6 iron
November 1, 2017 — Bear Creek — Hole number # 2 — 140 yards — 6 iron
Eagles

Dan Campos eagled the 578 yard par five hole number 13 at Orange Tree on April 8.
He hit driver and hybrid to six feet.

Ken Slagle eagled the 470 yard par five 18" hole at Verrado Victory on May 16™. He hit
driver — three wood to ten feet.

Kevin Haskew had a terrific eagle on the 355 yard hole number three at Westbrook
Village Lakes course. He hit driver nine-iron. Wow!

How about his and her birdies? Jandy and Robert Johnson both birdied the par five
hole number 11 at the Toon Monument Course on May 27™.

Low net scores for the quarter
Lloyd Snively — 63 at Falcon Golf Course on 4/25

Jim Lavery — 63 at Aguila on 5/2



Rusty Silverman — 64 at Aguila on 5/2
Don Majors — 61 at Stonecreek on 5/30
Frank Vutrano — 64 at Lone Tree on 6/10
Rich Golz - 64 at Rancho Mafana on 6/24
Low gross scores for the quarter
Ken Slagle has been playing well highlighted by a 69 with five birdies at the
Westbrook Village Lakes course and, one week later, a 67 with five birdies and his
hole-in-one at Lone Tree.
Mike Roether — 72(62) at Falcon Golf Course on 4/25
Ben Hughes — 73(70) at Falcon Golf Course on 4/25
Kevin Haskew — 74(69) at Aguila on 5/2
Larry Burton — 75(67) at Corte Bella on 5/9
Ken Slagle — 72(67) at Verrado Victory on 5/16
Kevin Haskew — 74(70) at Lone Tree on 6/10
Ken Slagle — 74(71) at Longbow on 6/13
And then there is Dan Campos!
72 at Cave Creek on 4/4
69 at Orange Tree on 4/8
71 at Legacy on 5/6
70 at Corte Bella on 5/9
71 at Longbow on 5/13
74 at Verrado Victory on 5/16
70 at Sewailo on 5/22
72 at San Ignacio on 5/24
73 at Stonecreek on 5/30
71 at Longbow on 6/13

74 at Southern Dunes on 6/20



The Green Valley Weekend

In addition to several first time participants at Green Valley, Tom Anderson recently
rejoined the VGA and played in the tournament for the first time in many years.

Tom placed first in Flight Two while posting the best score of the weekend of 211. Jeff
Currie (223) placed second followed by Brandon Bracy (228). Neal Fisel (229) came
in fourth while Dan Clark (235) rounded out the top five.

Ken Slagle, Mike Lopez, and Marl Alway were first time players at Green Valley and
all placed in the the first flight. Ken placed first in the flight with 218 with Larry Burton
(227) placing second. Mike (228) and Mark (229) were next with Dan Campos (230)
placing fifth.

Big Dog Bites
Standings through July 11.

While Dave Dean with 31 points continues to lead the Wednesday race, Ken Slagle
has surged into second place with 22 points. Larry Burton is close to Ken with 18
points followed by Dan Campos, Jim Cox, and George Kowlachik with 15 points
each.

The Saturday race has seen little movement and just about anyone could claim the
crown. Dan Clark still leads the pack with 17 points with Ken Baca and Fred Baldwin
in second place with 15 points each. They are followed by Stephen Jordan, Mike
Roether, and Bill Heller with 14, 13, and 12 points respectively.

Letters to Arnie
Dear Arnie,

During a recent round in tournament play, a member of my foursome hit a bad drive.
He then teed up another ball and hit again. As he walked off of the tee, he said that he
hit a provisional ball. Should he have announced he was hitting a provisional before he
hit the second ball? Peter Pro

Dear Peter,

As per USGA rule 18.3 Provisional Ball, he should have announced beforehand that he
was hitting a provisional ball. The rule is as follows;

b. Announcing Play of Provisional Ball

Before the stroke is made, you must announce that you are going to play a provisional
ball.

It is not enough for you only to say that you are playing another ball or are playing
again.

You must use the word “provisional” or otherwise clearly indicate that you are playing
the ball provisionally under Rule 18.3.


https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/players-edition/definitions.html#_55fd7b11-e957-499b-a46d-7f06a2c63ed3
https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/players-edition/definitions.html#_55fd7b11-e957-499b-a46d-7f06a2c63ed3
https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/players-edition/rule-18.html#_5f7d2403-abeb-4434-94ab-7fa11db8167b

If you did not announce this (even if you intended to play a provisional ball) and played
a ball from where the previous stroke was made, that ball is your ball in play under
penalty of stroke and distance.

As a consequence, the above golfer would be required to play the second ball which
would be lying three and he would be hitting four.

Dear Arnie,

Recently, while putting, my ball hit another player's club resting on the green. Should |
have taken a penalty stroke? Puttin' Pete

Dear Pete,

According to a recent article, “Putting Green Master Class, in AZ Golf written by Ed
Gowan you should have replaced your ball. As he wrote;

“When a ball is in motion from a stroke on the putting green and hits any person,
animal, another ball in motion or movable obstruction on the putting green, it must be
replaced and replayed.”

This means, in your case, if you did not replace the ball, you should been assessed a
two-stroke penalty. Also, once the ball is played again, you can no longer replace the
ball.

Gowan goes on to say if your ball hits another ball (in play) at rest, then play the ball as
it lies. Also, the struck ball must be replaced as close to the point of contact as
possible.

However, if the ball was hit from off of the green, the ball remains in play and is to be
played from where it lies.


https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/players-edition/definitions.html#_e3c3febf-dda4-4e95-a061-a656638f2a25
https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/players-edition/definitions.html#_55fd7b11-e957-499b-a46d-7f06a2c63ed3
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