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The Board officers for the 2020 are as follows: Dan Campos – president, Ron
Amstutz , – vice-president, Rusty Silverman – secretary, and Warren Meehan –
treasurer.  Be sure to thank these gentlemen for all that they do for the VGA.

The Board voted to bring back the desert rule to be used in addition to Rule E-5.  

The VGA desert rule is applied as follows;

1. In order for the Desert Rule to apply, the ball must pass over grass and remain in-
bounds.  The player then may drop the ball in the grass, within two club lengths of
the point where it entered the desert, no closer to the hole. The player is then
assessed a one-stroke penalty. The ball does not have to be found in order to
use the rule.  However, the foursome must rule that the ball in not out-of-bounds.

2. If a player decides to play the ball out of the desert, and after completing the
stroke the ball remains in the desert without crossing grass, he forfeits his use
of the desert rule and must continue to play the ball in the desert.  He may do so by
playing the shot where the ball lies or by taking an unplayable lie for a one-stroke
penalty.  In taking an unplayable lie, the ball is placed within two club lengths of
where the ball came to rest, but no closer to the hole.

3. If the ball enters the desert at one point and is found closer to the hole, the ball is
not to be dropped from a point opposite where it is found, but at the point of
entry.

Rule E-5 is applied as follows: 

1. Determine the ball reference point at which the ball went out-of-bounds or was 
lost, but not in a penalty area.

2.  Sight a line from the pin though the ball reference point.

3. Determine the fairway reference point that is directly across from the ball 
reference point, but no closer to the hole. 

4.  Sight a line from the pin through the fairway reference point.

5. The relief area is the area between the two lines within a two-club lengths, but 
no closer to the hole and in the field of play. 

6. Assess a two-stroke penalty. 

If the ball is found, the rule cannot be used. Also, once a player decides to use the
Rule E-5 and drops the ball according to the rule, that ball is in play and the lost ball,
if found afterwards, is abandoned. 

If you play a provisional ball, you cannot use the rule. However, you may use the 
rule on the provisional ball. 



Also,.  you may not use the rule if you are reasonably sure the ball is in a 
penalty area.

The Board rescinded The Putter Ball Rule in favor of using the same ball for 
putting that is hit to the green except if the ball is deemed damaged according to 
the rules of golf.

The Board is considering changing the minimum requirement for selecting the tees 
to be played from the 6,000 yard rule for men and the 5,000 yard rule for women to 
a system that uses the slope rating of the tees for individual courses.

The Champion of Champions tournaments are set for Wednesday February 5 at 
Orange Tree and Saturday February 8 at San Marcos.  Any member that has won
a tournament (only the lowest net score) between November 1, 2018 and October 
31, 2019 is eligible for the respective day.  There is a $10 entry fee for each 
tournament which will be paid out to the players with the best net scores..  Golfers 
who have won an event on both Wednesday and Saturday may enter both 
tournaments.  

Highlights from Fourth Quarter  

Eagles

Dan Campos eagled the par-five 568 yard 6th hole at the Wigwam Red Course on
September 21.  He also had three birdies to shoot 68 with net score of 62.

John Adair scored an eagle at Aguila on September 28.  He eagled the par-five 477
yard 5th hole.  He birdied numbers 17 and 18 for 74 with a net score of 68.

Low net scores for the quarter

The highlight of the third quarter was Dwain Moore's net 59 at Union Hills on
December 14th.  He carded nine pars and only double bogeys to shoot a gross score of
83.  Great shooting Dwain!

As in the third quarter, there was a spate of low net scores this quarter including 13
scores of 64 who be remembered, but unnamed at this time.

Tom Giljum – 63  at Trilogy Power Ranch on October 2

Al Dan – 62 at Whirlwind Cattail on October 9

Vance Roether – 61 at Union Hills on October 12

Lyn Warder – 62 at Union Hills on October 12

Dan Christiansen – 63 at Union Hills on October 12

Dave Dean – 63 at Ken McDonald on October 16

Ron Gunderson – 62 at Aguila on October 30



Jim Cox – 60 at Orange Tree on November 9

Tom Hebert – 63 at Orange Tree on November 9

Eddie Little – 62 at Falcon Golf Course on November 16

Rusty Silverman – 63 at Falcon Golf Course on November 16

Low gross scores for the quarter

Dan Campos – 73 (73) at San Marcos on October 26

Ben Hughes – 69 (64) at Cave Creek on April 20

Dan Campos – 73(73) at Cave Creek on November 2

Ben Hughes – 71(64) at Falcon GolfCourse on November 16

Ken Slagle – 72(66) at Union Hills on November 27

Dan Campos – 68(68) at Aguila on November 30

Dan Campos – 70(72) at Viewpoint on December 7

Ben Hughes – 72 (64) at Palmbrook on December 11

Dan Campos – 71(72) at Encanto on December 28

Big Dog Bites

Standings through January 18. 

Dave Dean has 19 points an early big lead in the Wednesday race. Warren Meehan
and Jim Niblack are tied for second place with eight points each. John Euler and Ken
Slagle are tied for fourth with six points each.

The Saturday race is much closer.  Ken Baca and Warren Meehan are tied for first with
10 points each. Jim Cox is in third place with eight points followed by Bill Heller and
Rusty Silverman with six points each.

Letters to Arnie

Dear Arnie, 

I hit a ball that landed in an area with tall grass and bushes.  I saw what I thought was
my ball and hit it out into the open when I realized that it was not my ball.  Another
player in my foursome told me that I incurred a two-stroke penalty for hitting a wrong
ball.  I claimed that I did not purposely hit a wrong ball and therefore should not receive
the penalty.  Who was correct?  Wackin' Warren

Dear Warren,



USGA Rule 6.3c states “You must not make a stoke at a wrong ball” (this includes if you
miss it).  It is a general penalty and, the other player was correct, it is a two-stroke
penalty.  The rule goes on to say that “In stroke play, you must correct the mistake by
continuing play with the original ball by playing it as it lies or taking relief under the
Rules:”.  “The stroke made with the wrong ball and any strokes before the mistake is
corrected do not count.” The rule further states that you must correct your mistake
before making a stroke on the next hole (meaning the hole you are currently playing) or
before returning your scorecard after the eighteenth hole.  The penalty for failing to do
so, is disqualification.

Now, what happens if you intentionally hit a wrong ball while you have a ball in play?  I
would consider this practicing.  USGA 5.5 states “While playing a hole and between two
holes, you must not make a practice stroke (swing at a wrong ball).”  It is a general
penalty, two-stokes, and the penalty is to be assessed on the next hole.  You may take
practice swings, but not practice strokes.  

VGA Hats for Sale!

The VGA has a selection of good quality hats with our logo.  There are two styles
including: white with a blue or tan trim for $35, sand with a tan trim for $35 (not shown in
the picture), and white with a blue trim and chin tie for $30.  There are also white golf
hats for $15 and visors for $10.  See Fred Baldwin for details. 


